search.png
en

Research and Development
Print pageSend page

Designing innovative, high performance products and solutions to improve our habitat and everyday life is at the heart of Saint-Gobain's strategy. This is a responsibility for the Group’s teams, as well as a major source of motivation. Through their innovations, the teams contribute to reducing the environmental impacts of buildings, processes and the development of new high-performance solutions.

Indoor air quality has become a major component of building comfort in the last few years. A new cross-business program to improve indoor air quality was set up in 2013 to enhance competences in this field more effectively and improve Saint-Gobain’s ability to develop key technologies.

Seven major research centers, 12 research centers dedicated to specific activities, 100 development units
With its new center in Chennai, India, Saint-Gobain now has seven major cross-functional research centers that serve all the Activities. The Group also has a dozen research centers dedicated to specific Activities and around 100 development units worldwide. Located close to customers, these units develop new products and processes in close cooperation with marketing and production teams.

To this end, 3,700 researchers and engineers are working on about 900 projects, to repeatedly offer our customers solutions which are innovative and adapted to meet their needs, producing a plus in terms of comfort.

About 260 researchers, engineers and other qualified employees work in the region of the General Delegation.

In the Herzogenrath Research & Development Center (HRDC), for example, the electrochrome glazing was further developed which, at the touch of a button, switches from non-transparent to transparent. This technology is used both in the motor industry for sun-roofs and in the construction industry.

In the area of glass wool insulation materials, the improvement in fire protection qualities with lower weight plays an outstanding role which led to the development of the new Isover Ultimate insulating material. This product was developed in the second large research center, The Ladenburg Development Center (LDC).

In addition, the improvement in grinding technologies, the development of new heat insulating compound systems for façades and the development of new composite materials are among the German research and development activities in the area of high-performance materials.

Join the conversation
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Google+
  • Xing
  • Kununu

search.png
de

Forschung und Entwicklung
Seite druckenSeite empfehlen

Forschung und Entwicklung bei Saint-Gobain

Unser Anliegen ist es, innovative und leistungsstarke Produkte und Lösungen zu entwickeln, die unseren Lebensraum und unseren Alltag komfortabler gestalten. Dies ist für uns ebenso Verpflichtung wie auch Motivation. Mit ihren Innovationen tragen unsere Forscher und Entwickler dazu bei, Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt von Gebäuden, aus Prozessen und der Entwicklung von Hochleistungsprodukten zu reduzieren.

Im Hinblick auf den Gebäudekomfort ist die Qualität des Raumklimas in den letzten Jahren ein immer wichtigerer Bestandteil geworden. Deswegen wurde 2013 ein funktionsübergreifendes Programm zur Verbesserung des Raumklimas aufgesetzt, um so die Kompetenzen auf diesem Gebiet effektiv zu steigern und die Entwicklung von Schlüsseltechnologien weiter zu verbessern.
 

Sieben Forschungszentren, 12 Fachforschungszentren,
100 Entwicklungsabteilungen

Mit dem neuen Forschungszentrum in Chennai, Indien, betreibt Saint-Gobain nun sieben große interdisziplinäre Forschungszentren. Darüber hinaus gibt es weltweit 12 Fachforschungszentren und rund 100 Entwicklungsabteilungen. Nah am Kunden, entwickeln diese neue Produkte und Prozesse in enger Kooperation mit den jeweiligen Marketing- und Produktionsteams.

Weltweit arbeiten 3.700 Forscher und Ingenieure an rund 900 Projekten, um unseren Kunden stets innovative und bedarfsgerechte Lösungen anbieten zu können, die zusätzlichen Komfort mitbringen.

Allein in der Region der Generaldelegation Mitteleuropa arbeiten etwa 260 Forscher, Ingenieure und weitere Fachkräfte.

Im Herzogenrath Research & Development Center (HRDC) wurde zum Beispiel die elektrochrome Verglasung weiter entwickelt, die auf Knopfdruck von undurchsichtig zu durchsichtig wechselt. Diese Technik wird sowohl in der Automobilindustrie bei Sonnendächern als auch in der Bauindustrie eingesetzt.

Im Ladenburg Development Center (LDC) wurde Isover Ultimate entwickelt. Dies ist ein Hochleistungsdämmstoff, der verbesserte Brandschutzeigenschaften bei gleichzeitig geringerem Gewicht aufweist.

Zu den weiteren Projekten der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsgruppe in Deutschland zählen: Im Bereich der Hochleistungswerkstoffe die Verbesserung von Schleiftechnologien, die Entwicklung neuer Wärmedämmverbundsysteme für Fassaden und die Entwicklung neuer Verbundwerkstoffe.
 

Folgen Sie uns
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Google+
  • Xing
  • Kununu