search.png
en

Our Processes
Print pageSend page

Reduction of emissions

The Saint-Gobain Group constantly strives to optimize processes so that CO2 emissions are reduced. The CO2 share of the entire Group represents is 0.3% of the total European emissions. Several companies in the Group have had a CO2 balance made on their own initiative. With this assessment we help to develop further measures aimed at optimization. We achieved a further reduction of CO2 through the geographical proximity of production centres, warehouses and customers. Our efficient and conscious purchasing policy ensures that senseless, so-called “transport CO2” is avoided. We also have ambitious targets in the office area. Up to 2040, with the Care4 programme the Saint-Gobain Group wants to reduce its total energy consumption and the emission of greenhouse gases by a factor of four.

Sustainable use of resources

Many of our machines must be cooled with water. At Saint-Gobain we work with closed circuits in order to make use of the same water time and again.

In particular, timber purchasing is subject to strict rules and specifications within the Saint-Gobain Group. If there is even the slightest doubt about the origin of a tree or the type of logging, a purchase will not take place. Only in this way can we sustainably preserve the important natural heritage on our planet.

Reduction of waste and the promotion of recycling

The three most important substances which the Saint-Gobain Group processes are glass, steel and plaster. All can be endlessly recycled without a loss of quality.

For example, we melt up to 80% of glass fragments for new glass and 100% of scrap iron for a new cast iron. The optimization of recycling in the production process ensures that we use less raw material and produce less waste.

Join the conversation
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Google+
  • Xing
  • Kununu

search.png
de

Prozesse
Seite druckenSeite empfehlen

Reduzierung der Emissionen

Die Saint-Gobain Gruppe strebt permanent danach, Prozesse so zu optimieren, dass CO2-Emissionen reduziert werden. Der CO2-Anteil der gesamten Gruppe beträgt 0,3% der gesamten europäischen Emissionen. Einige Unternehmen der Gruppe haben auf eigene Initiative eine CO2 Bilanz erstellen lassen. Diese Beurteilung hilft uns dabei, weitere Maßnahmen zur Optimierung zu entwickeln. Eine weitere CO2 Reduktion erreichen wir durch räumliche Nähe von Produktionsstätten, Lagerräumen und Kunden. Unsere effiziente und bewusste Einkaufspolitik achtet genau darauf, das sinnloses, sogenanntes „Transport-CO2“ vermieden wird. Auch im Büro-Umfeld haben wir ehrgeizige Ziele. Bis 2040 will die Saint-Gobain-Gruppe mit dem Care4 Programm den gesamten Energieverbrauch und die Emission von Treibhausgasen bei eigenen Verwaltungsgebäuden um das Vierfache reduzieren.

Nachhaltige Verwendung von Ressourcen

Viele unserer Maschinen müssen mit Wasser gekühlt werden. Bei Saint-Gobain arbeiten wir mit geschlossenen Kreisläufen um das gleiche Wasser so immer wieder zu nutzen.

Insbesondere der Holzeinkauf ist in der Saint-Gobain Gruppe strikten Regeln und Vorgaben unterworfen. Gibt es nur den geringsten Zweifel über die Herkunft eines Baumes oder die Art des Abbaus, kommt kein Kauf zu Stande. Nur so schützen wir auch nachhaltig den Erhalt wichtiger natürlicher Ressourcen.

Reduzierung von Abfall und die Förderung von Recycling

Die drei wichtigsten Stoffe, die die Saint-Gobain Gruppe verarbeitet, sind Glas, Stahl und Gips. Alle können endlos und ohne Qualitätsverlust wiederverwertet werden.

So schmelzen wir bis zu 80 % Glasscherben für neues Glas und 100 % Eisenschrott für neuen Eisenguss ein. Das Optimieren des Recyclings im Produktionsablauf sorgt dafür, dass wir weniger Grundstoffe verwenden und weniger Abfall produzieren.
 

Folgen Sie uns
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Google+
  • Xing
  • Kununu