search.png
en

Products & Solutions
Print pageSend page

Reducing the ecological burden of buildings

Studies indicate that buildings are responsibly for 25% of CO2 emissions in the industrial countries. With our products we make an essential contribution to the reduction of energy consumption of heating and air conditioning systems. Here, insulation is the key to success. A few examples:


  • The consumption of energy for the production and the transport of glass wool is one hundred times less than the amount of energy which it will save as an insulating material in a building.

  • If we compare a pane of glass from the 1990s with a pane of glass today, we will find that 20 years of research and development have caused a six-fold improvement in energy performance.

  • The development of switchable glass has additionally ensured that you can save a great deal of energy in summer, because at the touch of a button the shaded glass reduces solar radiation and thus lowers the energy consumption of air-conditioners.

  • In addition, there are optimal synergy effects, because many innovations can be used by different skilled trades. Thus, for example, an innovative acoustic foil, which was developed in the area of automotive glass, is today used as a thin layer foil in the area of dry construction.

  • Saint-Gobain also invests very heavily in the development of LED technology. And does so with good reason: LED lamps consume five times less energy than normal lamp bulbs, the service life is 100 times longer and the light spectrum resembles normal daylight, which in its turn increases the feeling of comfort for people.

  • All our building materials must pass a strict test. An expertise assesses every product and subsequently evaluates its compatibility for man and nature. In this connection, attention is paid to the entire life of a product, from the production right through to demolition or the recycling. Our internal process satisfies all the familiar international standards.

Optimizing the water cycle

With our products for drinking water and sewage, we guarantee the water cycle worldwide in more than 100 metropolises and over 1,000 large towns. The extremely stable ductile cast iron pipes ensure that nothing penetrates into the drinking water that does not belong there and that the dirty sewage does not reach the environment.

Saint-Gobain’s water policy, published in 2011, applies to all Group sites worldwide. It confirms the Group’s commitment to reducing the quantitative and qualitative impact of its activities on water resources as much as possible, both in terms of withdrawals and discharges.

The objective for 2025 is to reduce industrial effluent by 80% until then (base 2010).
 

Developing efficient and energy-saving vehicles

Two trends in the development of auto glass contribute to the reduction of fuel consumption and emissions: weight optimization through thinner glass and the use of high-tech thin layer foils for various functions.

The ClimaCoat pane from Sekurit has an invisible thin layer foil which under tension has a heating function, as a result in winter the window becomes completely free of ice within just a few minutes. In summer, the same foil ensures that the vehicle heats up less, the foil reflects solar radiation.

A similar foil is used as an acoustic foil, this ensures that less rolling, engine and ambient noises penetrate into the vehicle.

These are innovations which not only save energy and resources, but also simultaneously provide additional comfort.

Sharpening general sensibility to environmental topics

In almost all countries in which Saint-Gobain is active, we have partnerships for the protection of the environment. In Germany too, Saint-Gobain has joined the “Green Building” initiative. Through these partnerships others can also benefit from Saint-Gobain’s expertise on environmental topics.

You will find further information about the most important projects here:
Green Building Initiative: www.thegbi.org
Isolons la Terre (France): www.isolonslaterre.fr
Founding Energy Efficiency Label (France): www.effinergie.org/web
Isoterra (Belgium): www.isoterra.be
Spaar het Klimaat (Netherlands): www.spaarhetklimaat.nl/
Isolando (Italy): www.isolando.com
 

Join the conversation
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Google+
  • Xing
  • Kununu

search.png
de

Produkte
Seite druckenSeite empfehlen

Die Umweltbelastung von Gebäuden reduzieren

Studien belegen, dass Gebäude für ein Viertel der CO2-Emissionen in den Industrieländern verantwortlich sind. Unsere Produkte können erheblich dazu beitragen, den Energieverbrauch von Heizung und Klimaanlage zu senken. Dämmung ist hier der Schlüssel zum Erfolg. Einige Beispiele:


  • Der Energieaufwand für die Herstellung und den Transport von Glaswolle ist hundert Mal geringer als die Energiemenge, die sie als Dämmmaterial in einem Gebäude einsparen wird.

  • Eine Glasscheibe von heute hat eine sechs Mal höhere Wirkung auf den Energieverbrauch als eine Glasscheibe aus den 1990iger-Jahren. Das Ergebnis von 20 Jahren Forschung und Entwicklung.

  • Auch im Sommer kann man viel Energie sparen, mit dem so genannten schaltbaren Glas. Auf Knopfdruck verringert das abgedunkelte Glas die Sonneneinstrahlung und senkt so den Energieverbrauch der Klimaanlage (SageGlass).

  • Außerdem ergeben sich optimale Synergieeffekte, denn viele Innovationen sind Gewerke übergreifend einsetzbar. So wird heute beispielsweise eine innovative Akustikfolie, die im Bereich Autoglas entstanden ist, auch bei Rigips und weber eingesetzt.

  • Aus gutem Grund investiert Saint-Gobain auch in die Entwicklung der LED-Technologie: LED-Leuchten verbrauchen fünf Mal weniger Energie als herkömmliche Glühbirnen, die Lebensdauer ist 100 Mal länger und das Lichtspektrum ähnelt dem von normalen Tageslicht, was wiederum den empfundenen Komfort erhöht.

  • Alle unsere Baustoffe durchlaufen eine strenge Prüfung. Jedes Produkt wird von einem Gutachter beurteilt und auf die Verträglichkeit für Mensch und Natur bewertet. Hierbei betrachtet man den kompletten Lebenszyklus eines Produktes, von der Produktion bis zum Abriss oder der Wiederverwertung. Unsere internen Prozesse erfüllen alle gängigen internationalen Normen.

Den Wasserkreislauf optimieren

Mit unseren Produkten für Trinkwasser und Abwasser von Saint-Gobain PAM garantieren wir in mehr als 100 Welt-Metropolen und mehr als 1 000 großen Städten den Wasserkreislauf. Die extrem stabilen duktilen Gussrohre sorgen dafür, dass nichts ins Trinkwasser eindringt, was nicht hinein gehört, und dass schmutziges Abwasser nicht in die Umwelt gelangt.

Die Saint-Gobain-Wasserrichtlinie von 2011 gilt für alle Standorte weltweit: Die Gruppe wird demnach die quantitativen und qualitativen Auswirkungen ihrer Aktivitäten auf Gewässer so weit wie möglich reduzieren, sowohl in Bezug auf den Verbrauch wie auch auf das Abwasser.

Ziel ist die Abwassermenge bis 2025 um 80 Prozent zu reduzieren (Basis: 2010).
 

Effiziente und energiesparende Fahrzeuge entwickeln

Zwei Trends in der Autoglas-Entwicklung tragen zur Reduzierung des Verbrauchs und der Emissionen bei: Gewichtsoptimierung durch dünneres Glas und der Einsatz von hochtechnologischen Dünnschichtfolien für unterschiedliche Funktionen.

Die ClimaCoat Scheibe von Sekurit hat eine unsichtbare Dünnschichtfolie, die unter Spannung eine Heizfunktion besitzt, so wird die Scheibe im Winter innerhalb von wenigen Minuten komplett eisfrei. Die gleiche Folie sorgt im Sommer dafür, dass das Fahrzeug weniger aufheizt, die Folie reflektiert Sonnenstrahlung.

Eine ähnliche Folie kommt zum Einsatz als Akustikfolie, diese sorgt dafür, dass weniger Abroll-, Motor- und Umgebungsgeräusche in das Fahrzeug eindringen.

Es handelt sich hier um Innovationen, die nicht nur Energie und Ressourcen schonen, sondern gleichzeitig mehr Komfort bewirken.
 

Das allgemeine Bewusstsein für Umweltthemen schärfen

In fast allen Ländern, in denen Saint-Gobain aktiv ist, sind wir Partnerschaften zum Schutz der Umwelt eingegangen. Auch in Deutschland ist Saint-Gobain der „Green Building“ Initiative beigetreten. Durch diese Partnerschaften können auch andere von Saint-Gobains Expertise in Umweltthemen profitieren.

Nähere Informationen zu den wichtigsten Projekten erhalten Sie hier:
Green Building Initiative: http://www.thegbi.org
Isolons la Terre (Frankreich): www.isolonslaterre.fr
Gründung Energie-Effizienz Label (Frankreich): www.effinergie.org/web/
Isoterra (Belgien): www.isoterra.be
Spaar het Klimaat (Niederlande): www.spaarhetklimaat.nl/
Isolando (Italien): www.isolando.com
 

Folgen Sie uns
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Google+
  • Xing
  • Kununu